BAH, HUMBUG

I’m really trying to get into the spirit of Christmas but find it increasingly hard to do as the years pass bye. We stopped decorating the outside of the house due to several years of cut light strands. Maybe when CB returns from school this weekend. He usually does a pretty nice job of getting things decorated. I know the tree, lights and ornaments will come out of their boxes this weekend for sure.

Other than that, I really couldn’t care less about the holiday. I guess I feel that what they say is true, Christmas is for kids. Now that mine are older, the fun is out of it for me. Also, I never get what I really want. TW and I buy ourselves stuff during the year so by the time Christmas comes along, we’re on empty in regards to gifts. You can only get so many damned gift cards anyway.

The family get-togethers aren’t what they used to be either. There’s so much stress around the holidays that it’s not fun to get together anymore with TW’s family. I sometimes wish we had moved far away when we first got married. It would make it more palatable and fun when we get together. Even having new family (my birth dad’s side) hasn’t added that much spark to the holidays for me.

I’m really turning into the bitter, “stay off my grass,” old man that I never thought I’d be.

Bah, humbug.

3 thoughts on “BAH, HUMBUG

  1. I share your sentiments. I notice that Emma puts up fewer decorations every year, despite insisting that she loves Christmas. Can’t wait till it’s just a sprig of mistletoe.

  2. I take days here and there. I’m taking Christmas Eve off and then have Christmas Day off as the holiday. That’s about my limit for hanging with the family, other than being on vacation. TW and I have learned over the years that anything over 4-5 days off in a row is hazardous to our mental health. It’s not as bad if we’re traveling but staying at home, cooped up makes me something, something. Go crazy? Don’t mind if I do!

  3. I don’t really get into the Christmas spirit until I’m on Christmas vacation. Hopefully some time away from work will drive your blahs away too. Are you taking off or working over the holidays?

Comments are closed.